Opening times

Museum & garden

Monday – closed
Tuesday – Friday 9am to 5pm
Last Thursday of the month* – 9am to 9pm
Saturday & Sunday – 10am to 5pm

Shop & cafe

Monday – Friday 9am to 5pm
Last Thursday of the month* – 9am to 9pm
Saturday & Sunday – 10am to 5pm

Reading room

Monday – Friday 9am to 5pm
Last Thursday of the month* – 9am to 9pm

*Please note the following dates for the forthcoming Extended Hours nights:
No date in December
January 31st 2019

Christmas 2018

Museum, shop, cafe and garden

Saturday 22nd December – open 10am to 5pm
Sunday 23rd December – open 10am to 5pm
Monday 24th December – closed
Tuesday 25th December – closed
Wednesday 26th December – closed
Thursday 27th December – open 10am to 5pm
Friday 28th December – open 10am to 5pm
Saturday 29th December – open 10am to 5pm
Sunday 30th December – open 10am to 5pm
Monday 31st December – closed
Tuesday 1st January – closed
Wednesday 2nd January – open as usual

empty line

Reading Room

The reading room will close at 5pm on Friday 21st December and reopen at 9am on Wednesday 2nd January.

University closure days

The museum (including, shop, cafe and garden) and the reading room are closed on Bank Holidays and on some University closures days at Christmas and Easter. Forthcoming closure dates will be added to this page, but please contact us for future dates.

  • Opening Times

    The new museum galleries are open Tuesday to Friday 9am to 5pm, and at weekends 10am to 5pm. On the last Thursday of the month the museum is open until 9pm.

    View Opening times
  • Free Admission

    There is a charge for some events.